Central Equatoria

From SouthSudanInfo.com
Jump to: navigation, search

Central Equatoria is the smallest state of the ten states of South Sudan. It has an area of 22,956 km². Central Equatoria is formerly named Bahr al Jabal and was renamed on April 1, 2005 in the first Interim Legislative Assembly under the government of South Sudan. It was ceded from Sudan on July 9, 2011. Juba, the capital of the Republic of South Sudan is also the capital of Central Equatoria state.



Central Equatoria has the nation of Uganda to the South and Democratic Republic of Congo on the southwest. It is surrounded by other States of Republic of South Sudan on the other sides.

Administrative Divisions

Central Equatoria is divided into Payams and Bomas. It has six counties headed by a County Commissioner for each County. The County Commissioner is appointed by the President of South Sudan.

Deputy Governor

Former County Commissioners

Juba County

Lainya County

Terekeka County Ali Malou

Kajo Keji County

Related News


Personal tools